October 16, 2024

The Honorable Charles E. Schumer Senate Majority Leader 322 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Mike Johnson Speaker of the House H-232, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Senate Minority Leader 317 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Hakeem Jeffries House Minority Leader 2433 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Majority Leader Schumer, Minority Leader McConnell, Speaker Johnson, and Minority Leader Jeffries:

We are constitutional scholars and retired judges writing to express our support for the adoption of Supreme Court term limits.

It is our considered opinion that Congress has the constitutional authority to establish by statute a system of term limits for justices' active service on the Supreme Court (after which time members of the Court may continue to serve with limited duties). Congress likewise has the authority to provide for the regular appointment of a new justice to the Court every two years, subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.

While we are not writing to endorse any specific legislation, we believe that Supreme Court term limits are urgently needed at a time of plummeting confidence in the Supreme Court, and that it is within Congress's constitutional authority to establish a system of Supreme Court term limits through legislation.

Respectfully,

Bruce Ackerman Sterling Professor of Law and Political Science, Yale University

Hon. Harry Lee Anstead (ret.) Chief Justice, Florida Supreme Court

Hon. Mark W. Bennett (ret.) U.S. District Court, Northern District of Iowa

Hon. Margot Botsford (ret.) Associate Justice, Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court

Kevin M. Clermont Robert D. Ziff Professor of Law, Cornell Law School

Hon. Sue Bell Cobb (ret.) Chief Justice, Alabama Supreme Court

^{*}Titles and affiliations are for identification purposes only.

Wilfred U. Codrington III

Walter Floersheimer Professor of Constitutional Law, Cardozo School of Law

Hon. Patricia O'Brien Cotter (ret.)

Associate Justice, Montana Supreme Court

Hon. Fernande R. V. Duffly (ret.)

Associate Justice, Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court

Garrett Epps

Professor of Practice, University of Oregon

Professor of Law Emeritus, University of Baltimore

Hon. Stanley G. Feldman (ret.)

Chief Justice, Arizona Supreme Court

Caroline Fredrickson

Senior Fellow, Brennan Center for Justice

Hon. Carolyn K. Fulmer (ret.)

Florida Second District Court of Appeal

Hon. Nancy Gertner (ret.)

U.S. District Court, District of Massachusetts

Tom Ginsburg

Leo Spitz Distinguished Service Professor of International Law, University of Chicago Law School

Hon. Thelton Henderson (ret.)

U.S. District Court, Northern District of California

Hon. Geraldine Hines (ret.)

Associate Justice, Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court

Hon. Faith S. Hochberg (ret.)

U.S. District Court, District of New Jersey

Hon. Roderick L. Ireland (ret.)

Chief Justice, Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court

Ted Kaufman

Former U.S. Senator, Delaware

Carlton F.W. Larson

Martin Luther King, Jr. Professor of Law, UC Davis School of Law

Hon. Barbara A. Lenk (ret.)

Associate Justice, Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court

^{*}Titles and affiliations are for identification purposes only.

Gerald Leonard

Professor of Law, Boston University School of Law

Sanford V. Levinson

W. St. John Garwood and W. St. John Garwood, Jr. Centennial Chair in Law, University of Texas at Austin School of Law

Professor of Government, University of Texas at Austin

Ira C. Lupu

F. Elwood and Eleanor Davis Professor Emeritus of Law, George Washington University Law School

Hon. Beverly B. Martin (ret.)

U.S. Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit

Hon. A. Howard Matz (ret.)

U.S. District Court, Central District of California

Hon. Carlos Moreno (ret.)

U.S. District Court, Central District of California Associate Justice, Supreme Court of California

Hon. James C. Nelson (ret.)

Associate Justice, Montana Supreme Court

Norman J. Ornstein

Senior Fellow Emeritus, American Enterprise Institute

Hon. Barbara Pariente (ret.)

Chief Justice, Florida Supreme Court

Michael J. Perry

Robert W. Woodruff Professor of Law Emeritus, Emory University School of Law

Lucas A. Powe, Jr.

Anne Green Regents Chair, University of Texas at Austin School of Law

David Pozen

Charles Keller Beekman Professor of Law, Columbia Law School

Hon. Peggy A. Quince (ret.)

Chief Justice, Florida Supreme Court

Hon. James M. Regnier (ret.)

Justice, Montana Supreme Court

Judith Resnik

Arthur Liman Professor of Law, Yale Law School

^{*}Titles and affiliations are for identification purposes only.

William Reynolds

Jacob A. France Professor Emeritus of Judicial Process, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law

Kermit Roosevelt

David Berger Professor for the Administration of Justice, University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School

Mark D. Rosen

University Distinguished Professor, Professor of Law, Chicago-Kent College of Law

Eric Ruben

Associate Professor of Law, SMU Dedman School of Law

James Sample

Professor of Law, Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University

Hon. Shira A. Scheindlin (ret.)

U.S. District Court, Southern District of New York

Eric J. Segall

Ashe Family Chair Professor of Law, Georgia State University College of Law

Cliff Sloan

Professor from Practice, Georgetown University Law Center

Christopher Jon Sprigman

Murray and Kathleen Bring Professor of Law, New York University School of Law

Joan E. Steinman

University Distinguished Professor Emerita, Professor of Law Emerita, Chicago-Kent College of Law, Illinois Tech

Nadine Strossen

John Marshall Harlan II Professor of Law Emerita, New York Law School

Hon. Marsha Ternus (ret.)

Chief Justice, Iowa Supreme Court

Laurence H. Tribe

Carl M. Loeb University Professor of Constitutional Law Emeritus, Harvard University

Mark Tushnet

William Nelson Cromwell Professor of Law Emeritus, Harvard Law School

Louis J. Virelli III

Professor of Law, Stetson University College of Law

^{*}Titles and affiliations are for identification purposes only.

Artemus Ward

Professor of Political Science, Faculty Associate, College of Law, Northern Illinois University

Hon. T. John Ward (ret.)

U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Texas

Adam Winkler

Connell Professor of Law, UCLA School of Law

Mary Ziegler

Martin Luther King, Jr. Professor of Law, UC Davis School of Law

Hon. Michael D. Zimmerman (ret.)

Chief Justice, Utah Supreme Court

^{*}Titles and affiliations are for identification purposes only.